Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Time off for Bad Behavior

Yelp...that's right...I took some time off to just be...I realized that I started this journey early just to get on track and move forward towards the crown. But, I decided to take a few days off to just be...Worked on my dissertation, went to the movies, had some eggnog with brandy, ate alot of Atomic fireballs, had a couple of lattes, and just enjoyed some stuff not on my food plan. On Monday, I had lunch with several of my current and former colleagues...and I slept late...which meant no workout at 5:00. But, as I was debating whether I would go to exercise this morning, but I rolled out of bed and got dress....It was COLD outside, but colder inside at the gym...but, it was a great workout.

We used sledgehammers to pound a tire, pushed 45 pound plates across the floor and did burpees with a medicine ball...oh, I almost forgot the glute pushes and the overheads...It was great...The ladies in my group, Lacey and Michelle really pushed me to finish...I was planning to convert to personal training, but I wonder if I need the ladies in my group to push me....in additon to pushing myself...

Everyone always says that it is easy to motivate oneself when others support you...but it is often hard to find those supporters who will push you! So, today, I encourage each of you to find someone to support and encourage that individual to push his/herself to their potential. If you need a supporter, I volunteer. Someone asked why do this...because I want to be my best all the time. I want to slip on a pair of jeans and not worry about a muffin top...I want to walk taller than I do now. I want to be proud of having conquered this challenge and this is a challenge.

So, yes, it is hard getting up early, but it is worth it. I think about the energy I have from exercising early in the morning and I love it. Granted, I do crash and burn earlier, but that's okay. Despite doing a lot, I know when to rest and relax. Today, my husband asked what we were doing? I said nothing. I was working on my dissertation and cleaning. He always seems to be offended when I am not doing anything, but that is too bad. I enjoy any time I get to relax. After all, a mother's work is never done. Whether she realizes it or not, Micaiah needs a break also and I impose it while I still can. Our bodies scream rest and relaxation, so it is important to listen to our bodies and relax. I hope everyone finds time to rest and relax doing these hectic times.

Okay....I am going on a CARB ALERT! Intaking too many carbs and this will need to be reduced drastically. For those of you who have not checked out SPARKPEOPLE.com, you might want to try it...When you put in your food, you see where the fats, carbs, and protein come from. You see what you need to take out...it can be cumberson to track, but hey, if you have it on your Iphone, it's a touch away...

Until tomorrow....

Thursday, December 24, 2009

I don't work for the Post Office...

Yesterday, I indicated that neither rain or snow would keep me from the gym. I have to admit...I don't work for the post office and I didn't go to the gym this morning. As a matter of fact, I simply felt lazy today. I have to cook Christmas dinner tomorrow and I am just not into doing anything today. But, I know that I will get motivated. I will keep my running up until I can get to the gym. I am not even using Spark People today....we will chalk this up to a few day and I will get myself back on track Saturday.

I hope everyone has a great Christmas.....tomorrow Micaiah will get her gifts....she asked what I wanted and I said nothing...that is true...it hasn't changed. Normally, the new year brings lots of resolutions...I don't make any. Resolutions are too hard to keep, almost like Lent....if you can't make it a permanent change, don't make it a hobby!

Enjoy the evening all...have a great Christmas and don't forget to be thankful for all you have....

Wednesday, December 23, 2009

A curve ball...but I got through it...

Today, Durkey, my husband,had to go to work early and I was not able to go to exercise. So I had to improvise...I got my shorts out and put my armband on and got on my treadmill. I wanted to walk/jog for 3 miles, I know it doesn't sound like a lot, but it is considering I don't like to do that. Running/walking is simply not my thing. I used to walk with friends, but that was more gossiping than walking. But, I have seen the results of running on several people and I want to do it. The ladies at the gym run 5K, and other marathons....I want to do that. But, I can't run for long. I get winded. Today, I alternated between walking a slow song and I sped up for a fast song. It was fun. I was really sweating.

But, back to why I can't run. Is it more mental than physical? Is it something I have convinced myself that I could not do and now I can't. Regardless, I am going to beat this one. I think I will continue on my off days to run...I will do 3 miles on Friday and Saturday. Then, on Sunday, I will move up to 6 next week. I am going to focus on time...under 30 minutes at 4.0 this week and then bump to 5.0 next week. I think it will work..I hope it will work.

Crossfit has a great plan for unlimited usage in 2010...I was planning to use a personal trainer, but I am wondering if I should continue with the ladies in the morning and then go to the gym to use the rowing machine or stationary bike before I pick up Micaiah. I am going to decide next week.

OH, wait....I didn't share my news....I lost 2 pounds since I stepped on the scale on Sunday. I have upped my water intake and am journaling my food intake. My little cheats really piss me off because they add up in my caloric intake. This morning I was running errands and grabbed McDonald's for MJ and that McD's breakfast added up...now I have to be extra careful about the rest of my calories today.

People have been reading the blog, because I am getting feedback. I am excited because I want to be an example to others. Micaiah says she has a desire to inspire....well I do too! I am working on my Personal Trainer Certification and hope to finish my exam by next Easter. Then, I will use the certification and my personal experience to help others. As a wife, mother, employee with supervisory obligations, and a chauffeur to my kids, I, like many of my family and friends, find little time for myself. That is why going to Crossfit is my time. But, I will not be able to do all I do if I am not healthy...so I have to find time to stay alive.

I will spend the rest of the day working on my PhD Dissertation proposal. I hope to plow through it today and proof it tomorrow to send to a colleague for review. It is my goal to get pass this life consuming hurdle to push on with my next life consuming hurdle....As I settle in, I hope everyone has a great day....

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Two in a row....And it was a struggle

As I sit here, I am thinking about a swimsuit...I have heard from the trainers that a two piece is almost utterly out of the question for March; a one piece is possible. Well...I'm not going to think about a swimsuit right now. But, that is hard not to do....I am trying to be proactive, but I guess I can slow my roll!

I am enjoying my time from work. I plan on completing my dissertation proposal by Sunday to have a coworker read before Jan. 11. I want to turn it in for approval so I can begin my study! I am ready to be Stasia Herbert-McZeal, PhD because it takes so much of my energy to complete the degree and I want to focus on something else...like Life and fun!

I indicated on my Facebook status that it was a struggle for me to get out the door this morning but I did. Not to wake up anyone, I place my workout gear in the bathroom and get up at 4:20 am to get ready. I am usually out the door by 4:40 and at the gym. Ironically, thoughts of going back to bed popped into my head as I was emptying my bladder, so I hurriedly put on my pants, socks and shoes. Oh well, I am almost dressed so I can't turn back. I slipped on my shirt, combed my hair and then got my jacket and headed out the door. When I got to the gym, the trainer was there preparing our routine. It was cold in the gym, but I knew that it would warm up in a matter of time. As the ladies started coming in...oh, I forgot to mention that the 5:00 a.m. work out at Strength and Endurance is for LADIES ONLY! Many of the ladies in the group have been working out together for over a year. So, I am honored to be a part of the group. Many are friends on Facebook and encourage each other. Anywhoo! Most of the ladies were commenting on the cold weather and then someone noticed that the trainer had gone outside...we were going run! Ugh!

Running is not my thing...not even on my treadmill, which normally serves as a clothes hanger. A few of the ladies had been out sick, so the routine was revised. Needless to say, running would have been easier. Grab the kettlebells and give me 7 gripes, 7 extension, and 7 swings, four sets! Can you feel the burn in your arms?? Look at the Bosu ball, there are medicine balls on the floor, the rowing machines are down along with some dumbbells and kettlebells. We were assigned to a station and we started working out for time...We did 4 or 5 sets, I don't remember. I like the jumps on the Bosu ball...I feel it in my abs. When I was on the rowing machine, I thought of being on a rowing team...boy that would be hard. The overhead throws with the 20 pound medicine balls were killer! Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate was the team of the day and boy did I polish off that bottle of water before I left the gym...which is a first for me.

I am using Spark People to track my Nutrition and Fitness...so I am really excited. I am staying within my 1500 calories a day range...I was 1200 on Sunday, and I am on track to be under today. Unfortunately, on Monday, I did something bad. I had a bag of Flamin hot fries (chips) and the 1 ounce bag was 410 calories. That helped my calories inch up to 1532...I wanted to beat myself up for that! Those chips were so empty calories that I did not need. I have a bowl of oranges, grapefruit and pineapples in the fridge that I could have had, or some Wasa crackers with a dab of salsa, why the chips?

Regardless, yesterday is the past and I have to focus on today...I see now how useless calories can hurt. If you can't have just one, don't have none! I can't have just one, so I will avoid chips, for now. Not saying forever because that will not happen. I am measuring portions and having fun...I can be tedious,but what else can I do.

Okay, I have a question...can water make you fat? I have seen someone on the Biggest Loser drink a lot of water to push his weight up...but my husband believes that my water intake is causing my weight gain....Today I have ingested 4 12 ounce bottles of water, thus far. I am taking Fish oil tablets, AG Pro, and One a day vitamins in the morning and Fiber tablets at lunch. And I am making constant trips to the bathroom....I could put out a fire right now.....That's a good thing...

Although I dont go back to work until Jan. 11, I am already thinking about my nutrition. I am going to stock up on snacks and sparkling water. Laziness is not an option.

Well...I am off to cook dinner for the family...etoufee and brown rice! And then we are going watch Nick play basketball this evening. So, until tomorrow....

Peace...

Monday, December 21, 2009

Day 1 of Crossfit marathon....

I got up this morning at the sound of my Iphone alarm barking---the dog barking is my wake up call. It was 4:20 a.m. Strength and Endurance is now located in Carencro not far from Barney's Fire Range. I got there at 4:50 and was freezing. Oh, yeah, Durkey did tell me not to go in the morning because it would be cold. I must admit, it was FREEZING! But, I did it. I went and it was killer. Mo had an awesome workout and I don't know what is going to hurt tomorrow. I have the Iphone app for Spark People on my phone and it tracks weight, foods, and water intake. I am going to use it. Two days of journaling...I guess instead of Facebooking during meetings, I will be entering my food in my journal. Found a great French toast recipe on Spark People and made it. Had a salad for lunch and I am baking fish tonight with veggies! Oh, yeah, that scale I bought in the summer is now out. I went to Academy and got an Iphone armband for running.

I thought I would be honest in this journal and post my measurements and weight, but I don't want to be that honest. Let me just say that looks can be deceiving...I totally believe that my weight is due to muscle density, heavy bones! Yesterday, my husband and I weighed ourselves and he was shocked at my weight. But, my goal for the pageant is overall appearance...toned arms, an 8 pack would be nice, calves that pop, and a booty that hubby can bounce a quarter off of. I want to feel fit in my swimsuit and be filled with confidence. For the next three weeks, I will work out at 4:30 in the morning and push myself...I will journal my food and run on the days I don't go to Crossfit.

Whether I win or lose, I am going into this with an open mind and a desire to rise to the challenge. This is so challenging...I am really excited.

Sunday, December 20, 2009

I'm outta my mind...

Today is Sunday, Dec. 20, 2009 and I have started the first day of my Food Therapy nutrition plan. Last month, I met with Yvette Quantz at Food Therapy to find out how many calories I need to intake. I made the decision to meet with Yvette after being disgusted with my eating habits. Although I don't eat bad, I don't eat perfect. There are so many reasons I should want to eat better and exercise--my health, my daughter, my vision, yes my vision, I have high pressure in my eyes and have been treated for preventive glaucoma for several years. If I exercise, I can lower my eye pressure. So, I want take care of myself. I do this for my daughter, she is 7 and I want to be around for as long as I possibly can and see her cute little face. Right now, she is toothless, losing her baby teeth and grinning like a Chesshire cat. It is soo cute!

Micaiah and I love pageants. I started competing in 2004 and she started competing in 2005. We have held several titles, Mrs. Black Louisiana 2005 and Toddler Miss Black Louisiana 2005; Mrs. Louisiana US United adn Toddler Miss Louisiana US United in 2006; we have both held the title of Healing House Ambassador and I am the reigning Mrs. Evangeling and Micaiah is the current National American Miss Louisiana Princess Queen. She recently competed at the National level and although she did not make Top 10...she said she had fun. Although I have competed in a few preliminary pageants, I am often hesitant about entering because of my physique. I am not a size 4, 6, or 8. I have been approached about competing in Plus pageants, but I am not a size 12. I am a 44 year old black woman with some amply boobs, a small waist and a butt that was in existence long before Jennifer Lopez and Kim Kardashian made it okay to have a butt. I am bigger now than when I was pregnant with my daughter. I had a hysterectomy in 2006 and my body changed. One goal of mine besides finishing my dissertation is to compete in and win the title of Mrs. Louisiana United States.

I found out last week the pageant is on March 14, 2010. That gives me about 12 weeks to sculpt my arms, pump my calves, lift my butt, slim my hips and flatten my belly. I approached Terry Butts at Strength and Endurance about personal training and I will start in January. Until then, I am waking up at 4:30 a.m. to go work out at the Cross Fit Boot Camp. I must say, I went last week on Thursday and Friday and I can barely move my arms. I am trying to drink more water, eat better adn I am moving my Treadmill into position for 45 minutes of Cardio at 4.0 mph. This blog, titled Eyes on the Crown, is my journal of my weeks to competition on March 14. It is my goal to list my eating habits, my exercise routine, and my thoughts...although my eyes on focused on the title, my eyes are lookiing beyond it to my personal enrichment and my desire to help others...